Skip to content

Time after abandon cart email

March 27, 2008

I was at a site yesterday, filled my cart and received and email about my abandoned cart about 24 hours later which I thought was really good. They didn’t send it right after I left the site, nor did they send it a week later. I think 24 hours is a perfect time to send me the email, which by the way only contained my cart items and nothing more. No sales items, no incentives no thing. It was just a reminder of things in my cart.

What is your thought on a perfect abandon cart email?

Technorati Tags:
, , , , ,

Del.icio.us Tags:
, , , , ,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill permalink
    September 3, 2008 6:37 am

    Are abandoned cart emails typically sent to anyone who enters an email address and later abandons, or only those users who are registered and have logged in?

    We are technically able to do both, I’m just concerned about these messages being perceived as spam. The argument could be made that they are transaction based and therefore not entirely unsolicited spam, I just wanted to know what other people think.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. September 3, 2008 7:32 pm

    Hey Bill,

    I would say that they can be both, but make no mistake about it, abandon cart emails are not transactional. They are promotional and should be fully can spam compliant if you live in the states.

    Transactional emails to me are those that are generated as a result of a customers action/purchase on the site. These typically include order and shipping confirms. I treat cart abandon emails as triggered emails which are a result of the customers actions.

    I am planning a future post around the subtle differences between transactional and triggered emails and how in my opinion are not interchangeable terms.

    Thanks for stopping by.

Trackbacks

  1. The Perfect Checkout « Stubblog

Leave a Reply

