Skip to content

What makes you an email expert?

July 9, 2008

I have been around the email marketing block awhile and have noticed a few things lately that make me question a few things. I have seen people on linkedin and on other blogs from people who proclaim themselves as ” industry email experts”.  Don’t misunderstand me when I say that you can be an email expert within your organization, but when you proclaim it to the world, that is a different story.

So here is my question:  what makes you an email expert? Do you self proclaim it? Is is a matter that you have a blog which is heavily traveled?  Is is your years of experience that makes you this expert?  Is it your ascension to the top of an ESP or company that makes you this expert?

I have been a part of the industry for almost 7 years and have started email marketing at an organization and ran it globally. I am now a part of what I would consider to be one of the most complex email marketing systems in the world and find the position to be challenging. I am a heavy industry reader and am connected to some of the brightest minds in the industry, but do not consider myself to be an “expert”.  I am confident that I can go and run complex email marketing environments or even serve as a consultant to many organizations around the world, but again I am not sure if I would claim myself as an expert.

Also as a self proclaimed expert, do you need to be an expert on the technical side, the deployment side, the creative side, the analytical side, the deliverability side or any other side to be this expert?  Can you be an expert in 1 and not the other?

In my opinion, the email marketing community consists of about several hundred who are strong in many areas and to me there are maybe a dozen whom I would consider to be experts.

So if you claim yourself as expert, tell me why.  Make me understand what makes you an email marketing expert as I am open to hear your argument. However, if email marketing is simply an appetizer on your personal offering to an organization, you will have a hard time convincing me otherwise.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2008 3:39 pm

    I tried to avoid being labeled as an “expert” until I noticed that the true experts tend to agree with me a lot of the time.

  2. Billy Bosworth permalink
    July 10, 2008 5:21 pm

    will be interested to see the responses on this one. I took on this topic on a much broader context (not just email).
    http://coachboz.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/you-too-can-be-a-successful-fit-bazillionaire/

    I have been wondering the same thing as you, but on *many* different topics!

Leave a Reply

