Skip to content

Newegg.com Email

September 9, 2008

I just got the most annoying email from Newegg.com. When I opened the email both in webmail and on mac mail a pop up emerged and asked that I enter in my name and a password in order for the images and offers to be displayed.

How ridiculous is that?  Then if I entered in bogus information, it kept popping up and would not let me leave the screen or move to another email.  So I entered anything I could just to see if I could get rid of it and nothing. I had to close down my browser and mac mail just to get rid of it.

Newegg, I like your site and I like your services, but you just sent me spam and it was quite possibly the worst and most pathetic email I have ever received. Either you fix it now, or I will unsubscribe from your site and report you.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , ,

Del.icio.us Tags:
, , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments leave one →
  1. James permalink
    September 9, 2008 7:12 am

    I got the exact same thing this morning. I Googled it, wondering if it was a scam (I wasn’t about to enter my info anyways) and found this page. And since it didn’t go away when you entered bogus info, it may be legit. But I don’t care, and it’s annoying.

    I love Newegg and everything about them, but seriously. I’m not going to put up with that crap if they do it ever again. I will unsubscribe immediately if they do.

  2. Randy permalink
    September 9, 2008 7:53 am

    Same thing here. I can’t cancel out of it. I can’t login. It keeps popping up. I can’t read other messages because of this. Does anyone know how to delete this message, so I can read other messages? This is very annoying!

  3. September 9, 2008 7:55 am

    Randy,

    I just got out of my email and logged back in. In my webmail, I just checked the box and deleted it. In my mac mail, was able to highlight it without actually opening it and deleted it.

  4. Randy permalink
    September 9, 2008 8:00 am

    Thanks.

    Everytime I closed out of Mac Mail the message came up immediately upon opening Mail. I was finally able to delete it by quickly clicking on another message before the login dialouge box came up. I then was able to highlight and delete the offending email. It took a few tries.

    I bet someone at Newegg.com is getting an earful this morning. (And they should.)

  5. Macleod permalink
    September 9, 2008 8:21 am

    What a pain in the butt! I was also able to click on another message after a few hundred try’s. At this point I was able to go to an old one and click the unsubscribe. Maybe if I had more caffine and was a little more awake I wouldnt have been so miffed at going around in circles for ten minutes.

  6. Tim permalink
    September 9, 2008 8:31 am

    I also had this problem today. I found this site using google. I have been getting e-mail from Newegg.com almost everyday for a couple of years and have never had this before. I wonder if their e-mail address was spoofed somehow?

  7. Peter permalink
    September 9, 2008 8:33 am

    I just got this..with my tracking info!
    WTF!

    I can’t hit it, it locks up my browser, I can’t change tabs or close the browser…and it won’t take my legit credentials.

    This might be the most annoying branded customer experience I have ever had. Calling to yell at someone asap.

  8. James permalink
    September 9, 2008 7:44 pm

    They sent out another email apologizing for it, they had a problem with one of their servers causing some errors.

    Thank God they didn’t do that on purpose.

  9. September 9, 2008 7:55 pm

    They sure did James. I am about to post it.

Leave a Reply

