Skip to content

The Last 7 months

September 15, 2008

“I have come a long way in 7 months”

Back in March, I left Quest Software after almost 7 1/2 years of being there.  It was bittersweet as I had many colleagues there that I called my friends.  I left for one reason and that was challenge. I felt as if I was not being challenged enough by my director and organization. I need to do and learn something new and it was never about money.  I had spent many years building and innovating in my career there that I felt (over time) stifled and needed a change.

In the last 7 months, I have learned a couple of things:

1. email marketing is extremely challenging and constantly changing.

2. I learned to never stop learning and found out that what I did at Quest was peanuts compared to what other organizations are doing in email marketing.

3.  I have learned the value being in a office every day. (In my last position, I worked out of my house for almost 6 years and while great in the winter and my sons needs, it really was not fulfilling my own need to have human contact every day)

4. I have learned to not become emotionally attached to my career.  In the past, I had become too involved in my work and let it consume me.

5. I have learned the value of business relationships and how sometimes things are not as they appear to be. For example, I received a nasty email from a former colleague of mine accusing me of falsifying information my Linkedin profile and not giving credit where credit is due.  It was a very insulting email and I quickly fired back to this person only to never here from them again. (yes I was polite and in fact welcoming and wanting to open up a dialogue)

6.  I have learned that no matter who you are or what position you have, that being a condescending, self absorbed, accusatory and all around assh**e of a person will still get you now where with me and I will call you on the carpet anytime.

7. I have learned that coming from an organization of 3,000 to over 300,000, there are bigger political battles and red tape and the scrappster doesnt play well in that environment.

8. I have learned to laugh everyday at ideas, scenarios and things that I can only have a minor part to change.

9. I have learned to have fun everyday at my job no matter what the scenario.  Once the fun is gone…then its time to move on.

10. Certainly not the last thing, however close enough, but I have learned that 7 months go by very quickly and I wonder what the next 7 months will bring.

To be clear…my last position was great, and my current position albeit a little boring at times is great too. I work with an incredible set of folks and am learning to just be.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , ,

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

