Skip to content

The Longest Email in history

December 11, 2008

This is the longest email in history..bar none…I kid you not. Not much more to say other than enjoy the scroll and I pit the person who has to do code, review, pre-plan and do a detailed click through analysis on this email.

Long live email

longest-email-in-history

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2008 2:24 pm

    That’s amazing. I would love to see the stats on that. Instinct says it would bomb, but maybe their demographics respond to all that choice? One question: what did you do at their website for them to decide you were a reasonable target for all those offers 😉

  2. Jim permalink
    December 11, 2008 2:53 pm

    This is classic. Reminds me of the opening of Star Wars Ep 4 when you first see that Star Destroyer, and it just keeps going – and going – and going – and going…

    The War and Peace of emails…

  3. December 11, 2008 9:57 pm

    @ Mark – I swear man… I did nothing. I signed up years ago when I was a member of their warehouse club. I only ordered once from the site which was like 2 years ago on a PC for my parents. 🙂 This is however how they roll on their email. Their B2B side sends the same messages, but perhaps not as long.

    @Jim Hear ya on the war and peace thing….I printed this out at the office and it was 4.5 11×17 pages and almost 6 feet tall.

  4. Martin Tuip permalink
    December 12, 2008 2:10 am

    And the sad part is that those emails will come in garbled as Outlook will block the images from showing as an anti-spam measure.

  5. Jim permalink
    December 13, 2008 11:14 am

    Scrappy, that’s taller than a lot of my team members, including our transactional email guy!

  6. December 14, 2008 9:03 pm

    Andrew, you are NOT kidding!! That is the longest message I have seen to date. No question they aren’t segmenting. If they are, it’s one segment called “Everybody who they have an email address on.”

    Wasn’t it Spaceballs that had the super long opening credit though?

  7. December 14, 2008 10:04 pm

    Ken..I think you are right..it was spaceballs…Jim..can you confirm

  8. Jim permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:01 am

    Yeah, Spaceballs took the idea and ran with it. They extended it to like a full minute or something. Classic!

  9. December 21, 2008 6:10 am

    At our company, the engineers just started using Costco emails for our own “worst/insane case scenario” testing, so I LOL’d when I saw this post.

    Double LOL when I read that you printed it. 6 feet tall, omg.

  10. February 1, 2011 9:24 pm

    I’m currently working on one that is 3.2 meters long (roughly 9000 pixels), and it’s all text. The client will not be reasoned with. 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Email Marketing Systems » Blog Archive » The Longest Email in history « The Scrappy Email Marketer

Leave a Reply

