Skip to content

Grab an Email Address With a Popup Window

September 2, 2009

There is a post over at the Vertical Response blog about the use of pop ups to acquire email address.

My take is this: I hate pop ups. I have the best pop up blocker I can have and to utilize them to acquire email address’ seems a bit much to me. If you have a great site with great content and plenty of places for me to sign up for your email on the site, then you should not have to resort to a pop up on page exit to ask one last time. It may work for some company’s and that’s great but I would not advise anyone to do so.

Give the article a read and let me know what you think.

VerticalResponse Email Marketing Blog for Small Business: Grab an Email Address With a Popup Window

Shared via AddThis

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 4:58 pm

    My shopping experience on Sept.1/09 in the Jewellery Dept. at Macys in the Bangor Mall. We were served by your employee, Ellen York, which was an enjoyable experience for my sister and me. We definitely plan to
    return again and again. “Bravo Ellen York”. This knowledgeable, pleasant, employee informed us of the ongoing Sale, and mentioned the
    additional 15% if we opened an account. This we would have done readily if we hadn’t had to give our Social Insurance #, and still Ellen remained a pleasant, & CustomerOriented-Macys-employee. This girl
    is a “Keeper”.

    Very sincerely,

    Allie Kane and
    Patricia McEwen

  2. September 2, 2009 9:28 pm

    Andrew,
    I am a big proponent of pop-ups for acquiring email addresses if it’s done correcttly. In fact, I rebranded the term to gain traction and started calling them “hover windows” due to the negative connotations associated with “pop-ups.” If hover windows are presented contextually (message should be relevant to the pages viewed) and intelligently (only after users have visited a certain volume of pages, not to every user), they can increase conversion significantly. Some large sites, like kayak.com have built up huge email databases with “hover windows.” If anyone is interested in more examples and history, feel free to contact me at abrahams45@gmail.com

    Jeff Abraham
    rel-8 marketing

  3. September 3, 2009 8:01 am

    Andrew,

    I think it’s important to dissociate one’s own visceral feelings about popups/hovers/whatever-you-want-to-call-them from both the results they may achieve, not to mention the possible different feelings of one’s audience. We’re not our customers.

    2 examples to back me up:

    — Here’s one from MarketingSherpa of one of our customers who significantly increased his opt-in rate with no negative feedback (my own notes on the study here).

    Here’s another showing a significant bump in signups to a popular photography site.

    Note that in both cases, the site owner looked for signs of negative response to the forms, but did not discern any.

    On a personal level, I’m right there with you. Popups piss me off and I typically close them without reading them. But not everyone does the same.

  4. September 3, 2009 8:11 am

    My big question in all of this is how long have these folks been doing this sort of thing and have they tested it against the traditional methods of email acquisition on the site?

  5. September 3, 2009 8:21 pm

    Kayak has been doing it for at least 2 years. Trip advisor for 1+ years. WebMD for 1+ years. At WebMD, the hovers are running in parallel with other acquisition tactics and they are more effective.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Grab an Email Address With a Popup Window « The Scrappy Email Marketer [thescrappyemailmarketer.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

