Skip to content

Being an Email Guru

October 19, 2009

The other day I was told that I was an email guru.  For the record, I am not an email guru. I have never been a guru and will never be a guru.  I don’t preach to be a guru and don’t want to be a guru.

I am a student of this trade we call email marketing and so are you.  In fact, I may take the words email expert out of any of my bios, because I don’t want to be label.

You see, we are all students of email marketing and I can never do enough learning about it. This industry is changing all of the time and I dedicate hours and hours weekly to learn more and more about it.  I don’t do it because I have too, I do it because I want to.

Don’t preach to be an email  or a social media expert and never feel as if you are student or that the time to learn things is over.  Several weeks ago I reached out to a colleague with whom I would consider to be extremely knowledgable in delivery.  I  wanted to learn and get inside his head as he lives and breathes this stuff everyday. He took the time to explain things to me and I am grateful for his help.  You know who you are C.W. and I appreciate the time you took to educate me on a subject which I know is critical in the email industry.

The bottom line here is take the time for yourself to read or reach out a learn your trade and try to learn things beyond your immediate world. If your world is all about delivery, branch out and learn about content or mobile, but don’t think for a minute that you would not be called upon to do something else.

As for being a guru………I would rather just stick with being an email educator or influencer.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , ,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 2:54 pm

    Dude. I agree with so much of this post. You know I do. We’ve talked about this (and other language/titles) before. All over it. However, to play the other side for a minute, I think that while it’s important to always be learning, it is also critical to be teaching. We all struggle with that balance.

    You – and other “influencers” – have a ton of valuable knowledge to share. I agree that calling ourselves gurus or experts is overkill (and unnecessary); however, others in the industry look to us for advice. We need to be there to provide it.

    This comment is not coming out at all how I had hoped/expected, but maybe it makes a bit of sense. Looking forward to continuing the conversation…

    DJ Waldow
    Director of Community, Blue Sky Factory
    @djwaldow

  2. October 19, 2009 8:50 pm

    Totally hear ya man. I love to educate and will continue to do so, I guess my post came from the perspective that I don’t want to be the guy to “always” go to…or seem snobbish about it.

    I love what I do and want to share it with the world, but I want to make sure I don’t come off the wrong way to people.

    Much love from the 847.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for Being an Email Guru « The Scrappy Email Marketer [thescrappyemailmarketer.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

