Skip to content

Chatting with some Bronto’s

March 12, 2010

I had the good fortune today to have lunch with a few folks from Bronto.  They were in town on sales calls and contacted me last week to see if I wanted to have lunch.  Since I never pass up an opportunity to eat AND I get to eat with email people, it was like a match made in heaven.

One of the things that I loved about this lunch was the fact that there was no agenda.  We talked about Bronto, the email industry and our backgrounds. I sensed a genuineness in Matt and Suzanne that you often don’t find in people today. They asked my opinion on the future of the business and I learned a little bit about them as well.

I poke fun at vendors sometimes..only because that is in my nature.  However, I love talking to ESP’s and finding out what is important to them and where they see this email marketing thing going.  I love talking to folks in the industry, not only because I like to learn about them and where they stand, but I love talking to vendors who are interested in learning as well.

They were not there to sell me something..they were there because they wanted to be there and that makes it different.  To me..that is what makes a good partnership.

Matt and Suzanne…thanks for coming by today.  Thanks for breaking some bread with me and thanks for just being real and talking about email marketing.

**Note to all vendors**  I would love to sit with each and every one of you to chat about email over a coffee or lunch. I want to hear what you have to say…not what you want to sell.  Contact me and lets something up.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. DJ Waldow permalink
    March 12, 2010 9:22 am

    Matt is certainly a good egg. One of my closest Bronto friends…

    DJ Waldow
    Director of Community, Blue Sky Factory
    @djwaldow

  2. March 12, 2010 9:25 am

    Good stuff Andrew! Sounds like you guys really had a good lunch talk. ESPs could use more people like you on the ‘client’ side with your insights and point of view 🙂

  3. March 12, 2010 10:04 am

    Andrew –

    Thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you in person.

    We at Bronto have great respect for you, your significant contributions to the industry and to the dissemination of best practices to email marketers everywhere.

    We’re excited for you as you lead the charge on email marketing at Groupon. Fun to watch great people find success!

    And, oh, BTW, you owe @shannonholato a head band…

    Matt

  4. March 12, 2010 10:26 am

    Great advice contained within for any company seeking to ‘sell’ – forwarded to my team for some perspective! Thank you – it is appreciated.

  5. DJ Waldow permalink
    March 12, 2010 11:51 am

    Hi Matt. Dude. Go get a gravatar! http://en.gravatar.com/

    dj

Leave a Reply

